MAASIN CITY, Southern Leyte, April 22 (PIA) -- The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG)-Southern Leyte Provincial Office bared the winners of the Lupon Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA), a joint project with the Department of Justice (DOJ) at the provincial level.

The Provincial Assessment Team which includes the Philippine Information Agency through Infocen Manager Erna Sy Gorne conducted the assessment in the middle of March, this year.

The awardees include Barangay Biasong in the municipality of Hinunangan as 1st place for the 1st-3rd class municipality, while 4th-6th class municipalities were awarded to: 1st – Barangay Hingatunggan, Silago; 2nd – Barangay Canlabian, Anahawan; and Barangay Nahulid of Libagon the 3rd place.

The winners will receive cash awards and plaques of recognition, the source said, such as P20,000 for Biasong and P20,000, P15,000 and P10,000 for the 4th-6th class winners, respectively.

The LTIA aims to recognize the best top three performing lupons throughout the province and to aid the lupons in effectively performing their functions and to further encourage them to perform the same.

Previously, the Lupong Tagapamayapa in Barangay Hingaatunggan of Silago town was awarded as 1st runner-up in the LTIA National Awards, December 2013 at the Malacaṅang Palace, while last year, Southern Leyte Lupons were recognized at the LTIA Regional level awarding such as Barangay Hingatunggan, Silago, Barangay Biasong, Hinunangan and Barangay Tagnipa, Maasin City were declared as Regional winners for the 4th-6th class municipality, 1st-3rd class municipality and 1st-3rd class component city categories, respectively.

It was learned that awarding of the current best Lupons in the province will be given during the Southern Leyte Founding anniversary in July, this year. (ajc/rgc/PIA8-SoLeyte)