MAASIN CITY (PIA) -- The provincial office of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) in Southern Leyte has released this year’s winners of the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Award (LTIA) provincial level.

At the joint zoom meeting of the Provincial Peace and Order Council (PPOC) and the Provincial Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (PTF-ELCAC) recently, Barangay Hingatunggan of Silago, got the top spot in sustainability award.

For the component city category, in which the 70 barangays of the city competed against each other, this was won by Barangay San Jose, an interior barangay located about 10 kilometers from the city proper to the north.

For the 1st to 3rd class municipalities category, the winner was Barangay Catublian, Hinunangan, and for the 4th to 6th class types the winner was Barangay Tubod, Silago.

A separate date will soon be announced for the awarding rites, the DILG said, adding that the top winners will compete for the regional level competition representing the province.

Meanwhile, in the same online gathering, an officer of the 14th IB reported that nine individuals who are couriers, supporters of the New People's Army (NPAs) voluntarily surrendered to the Barangay Task Force - ELCAC in Barangay Olisihan, Bontoc, on June 9.

The surrender rites were held at the municipality of Bontoc led by Mayor Jane Ruales, chairperson of the Municipal Task Force-ELCAC, the officer said. (LDL/MMP/PIA-8/Southern Leyte)