MAASIN CITY, May 20 (PIA) -- The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) in Southern Leyte kicked off the construction of 56 multi-purpose buildings in the province of Southern Leyte, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) field office here reported.

According to Southern Leyte District Engineer Manolo Rojas, these 56 buildings are located in the following municipalities: six (6) each in Tomas Oppus and Limasawa; four (4) in Hinunangan; three (3) each in Padre Burgos, Malitbog, and Libagon; two (2) each in Macrohon, Bontoc, Hinundayan, Pintuyan, San Juan, Anahawan, St. Bernard and San Francisco; and one each in San Ricardo, Liloan, and Silago.

For the city of Maasin, the engineering department is also constructing 12 buildings, he added.

Rojas clarified that the construction of the said structures is a priority project saying, “the community needs it.”

He added that it will not only be used as venue for public meetings and social events but will also serve as an evacuation center for local residents in times of typhoons, earthquakes, and other calamities.

The multi-purpose buildings were established in strategic areas in the villages and were structurally designed to withstand typhoons and other disasters to ensure safety of residents.

The field office will fast-track the construction of these structures and targets to complete it in August, Rojas said. (ldl/rgc/PIA8-SoLeyte)