MAASIN CITY, Southern Leyte, June 2 (PIA) -- Four public national high schools from this province’s schools division, and two from this city’s schools division, have been primed to roll into motion the new K to 12 curriculum one year ahead of schedule.

Officer-in-Charge Arturo Isip, Southern Leyte Schools Division Superintendent, identified the four pioneer schools as the Villa Jacinta National Vocational School, Sogod National High School, Pintuyan National Vocational School, and the Hinunangan National High School.

This school year 2014-2015, the Department of Education (DepEd) will implement the K to 12 curriculum for Grade 3 and Grade 9 (third year high school). But for the early implementers, those who will graduate in high school in March 2015 can voluntarily choose either to proceed to college or to enrol in the two years of senior high school.

“About 75% of the students in the pilot high schools confirmed they will proceed to senior high school, and the parents were aware of this for we have been informing them of this development” Isip said during the recent Acton Center Kapihan sa PIA cable TV program.

The two additional years of Senior high school, or Grades 11 and 12, are mandatory starting the school year 2016-2017.

All the faculties and facilities in the four early implementer schools have been prepared and readied to cater to the different tracks the students are expected to take in the two senior years, Isip revealed.

At the city division, the two early implementers are the Maasin City National High School, and the Maasin Vocational and Technical School, the two schools located in barangay Combado, Maasin City. PIA8-Southern Leyte)