MAASIN CITY, May 7 (PIA) -- Some 11 municipalities in the province of Southern Leyte have completed distribution of the Social Amelioration Program (SAP) funds through the Department of Social Welfare and Development Office (DSWD).

In a press briefing held with the local media here, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Cluster Head Roma C. Demeterio said 11 municipalities have conducted hundred percent SAP payout as of Tuesday, May 5, 2020.

These municipalities include Anahawan, Hinundayan, Libagon, Tomas Oppus, Silago, Liloan, Limasawa, Padre Burgos, San Ricardo, Macrohon and San Juan.

“These mentioned municipalities have already submitted their documents to DSWD-8 for liquidation purposes and are now waiting for the second payout,” Demeterio said.

The remaining municipalities and one city in the province were revalidated by the DSWD personnel and are now continuing the SAP distribution after the said revalidation, she said.

The amount of P5,000 per beneficiary is an emergency subsidy under the government’s SAP program implemented by DSWD. (ldl/rgc/PIA-S. Leyte)