Southern Leyte has two types of climate: Type II and Type IV.  Type II is characterized by the absence of dry season with a very pronounced maximum rainfall occurring in the months of November to January. This type prevails in the eastern half of the province that cover the municipalities of Sogod, Liloan, Libagon, San Francisco, Pintuyan, San Ricardo, St. Bernard, San Juan, Anahawan, Hinunangan, Hinundayan, and Silago. 

Type IV has rainfall that is evenly distributed throughout the year. This type prevails in the western part of the province that covers Maasin City and the municipalities of Macrohon, Padre Burgos, Limasawa, Malitbog, Tomas Oppus, Bontoc, and a small part of Sogod.

The province is located in the area of less frequent tropical cyclones. Yearly typhoons affect only the northern half of the island under the jurisdiction of the Province of Leyte. During such typhoons, Southern Leyte experience heavy rains and occasional gusty winds. Continuous heavy rains, however, would result in floods, landslides, and mudslides, seriously damaging life and property. The province is generally affected by typhoons that pass through Surigao.