The name is a corruption from the Spanish word “Murcielago” (bat) which the Spaniards found in abundance around the area. It was a barrio of Hinunangan until Executive Order No. 326 dated May 17, 1951 separated it from the mother town. The town has an ebony beach with unique black sand.
The evolution of the same Silago originated with the convenience of pruning the Spanish word “Murcielago” to Cielago and then Silago as it is now called.
This is the last town of Southern Leyte before Abuyog of Leyte on the north.
During World War II, Silago was chosen as the site of submarine landing of American military arms and equipment for the Leyte guerillas. The military hardware was efficiently moved to Leyte by hundreds of volunteer guards under the Leyte area command of Col. Ruperto K. Kangleon.