MAASIN CITY, Southern Leyte, Feb. 2 (PIA) – Based on the assessment conducted by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) – Southern Leyte Provincial Office, 9 municiplities were identified to be recipients of RxBox 1000, Provincial S & T Director Engr.Florita Santiago informed.

DOST identified Hinunangan, St. Bernard, Libagon, Sogod, Bontoc, Tomas Oppus, Malitbog, San Ricardo and Pintuyan to receive the RxBox 1000, a poject that aims to provide rural health units (RHUs) in identified geographically isolated and disadvantaged areas (GIDAs) a medical device records. Santiago said that the RxBox is rolled out for 1,000 RHUs nationwide, 88 are for Eastern Visayas region where 9 units were for the province of Southern Leyte. The municipality of Limasawa had already availed (1) unit, she said. The telehealth device is composed of six (6) medical sensors which include a Cardiotocograph (CTG), Fetal Heart Rate Monitor, Electrocardiogram (ECG), Blood Pressure Monitor, Pulse Oxymeter, and a Temperature sensor. It is a medical device that can be used for diagnostic procedures as well as an Electronic Medical Record (EMR) which can be utilized for the storage and referral of clients’ medical records. She said that the presence of these technologies in the community will hopefully reduce child mortality (MDG 4), improve maternal health (MDG 5), and detect non-communicable diseases which consequently lead to better health for all Filipinos. The DOST project is in collaboration with the Unitversity of the Philippines – Manila – National Telehealth Center (UP-NTHC), University of the Philippines Diliman – College of Engineering, DOST - Advanced Science and Technology Institute, and the Department of Health (DOH). Last January 31, 2017, DOH-Representative Dr. Verna Fernandez and Provincial Health Services Officer Dr. Noel Lumen attended the orientation of DOST’s Project RxBox 1000 held at their Conference Hall in Candahug, Palo, Leyte. (ajc/rgc/PIA8-SoLeyte)